Who We Are

Coast Salish Peoples

We are a community of Coast Salish peoples descended from groups and bands originating from the Skagit and Samish River valleys, coastal areas surrounding nearby bays and waters, and numerous islands including Fidalgo, Camano, Whidbey and the San Juan Islands.

The Swinomish Indian Tribal Community is a federally-recognized tribe that occupies the Swinomish Reservation in the state of Washington. We are committed to improving the lives and wellbeing of our tribal members through social and cultural programs, education, economic development, and resource protection.

We honor our ancestors representing the four aboriginal bands, Swinomish, Samish, Lower Skagit, and Kikiallus, who joined together to form the present day Swinomish Indian Tribal Community. In 1855, Swinomish and 81 other tribes gathered at Múckl-te-óh (Mukilteo, Washington) to sign the Treaty of Point Elliott.

Our ancestors committed to protecting a way of life passed down from generation to generation. The elected members of the Swinomish Senate continue that commitment by strengthening our government so that we may protect our treaty rights, culture, and collective wellbeing. As a sovereign nation, we engage in local, state, and interstate commerce, manage our natural resources, and exercise power over our homelands and waters.

We value collaboration with fellow tribal and non-tribal governments. Our partnerships spread throughout the region, state, and nation. We are honored to play a leadership role through partnerships with the Association of Washington Tribes, the Affiliated Tribes of Northwest Indians, the National Congress of American Indians, and other institutions advocating for the rights of Native people.

Swinomish is governed by the Swinomish Constitution and Bylaws that was originally adopted in 1936, and by the Swinomish Senate, which is comprised of 11 elected members that serve staggered five-year terms.

Each year there is an election for two Senate positions and every five years there is an election for three positions. Following each year's election, the 11 Senators select a chairman, vice chairman, secretary and treasurer.

Steve Edwards, yal le ka but - Chair 2017-2022
Jeremy Wilbur, kats-but-soot - Vice Chair
Sophie Bailey, sapelia - Secretary 2020-2025
Brian Wilbur, sӿladated - Treasurer 2019-2024
Leon John, smǝkǝlǝ - Senator 2017-2022
Barbara James, taleq tale II - Senator 2018-2023
Eric Day, stooltsa - Senator 2019-2024
Alana Quintasket, siwəlcəʔ - Senator 2020-2025
Brian Porter, ya qua leouse- Senator 2021-2026
Greg Edwards - Senator
Tandy Wilbur - Senator

Who We Are